Thursday, January 7, 2010


The 41st NAACP Image Awards nominees were announced at the SLS Hotel in Bev Hills yesterday. Private Practice star, Taye Diggs, Former NFLer turned actor, Michael Strahan, Comedian Wanda Sykes, Cory in the House star Kyle Massey and Y&R actress Tatyana Ali announced the categories and the nominees.

The ABC network lead with 22 noms followed by NBC with 13, CBS with 12 and everybody else coming behind. Shondra Rhimes', Grey's Anatomy received 6 nominations followed by Everybody Hates Chris and Tyler Perry's House of Pain with 4 nominations and Ugly Betty with 3.

In the movie category: Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire" leads with eight nominations, earning nods for director Lee Daniels, newcomer and star Gabourey Sidibe and supporting actors Mariah Carey, Mo'Nique, Paula Patton and Lenny Kravitz. "Precious" was also nominated for outstanding motion picture and outstanding independent film.

Up for Best movie includes, "Invictus," "Michael Jackson's This Is It,"  "The Blind Side", "Precious" and "The Princess and the Frog."
The ladies nominated for Best Actress in a movie were: Sophie Okonedo, "Skin" and Taraji P. Henson"Tyler Perry's I Can Do Bad All By Myself", Sandra Bullock's, "The Blind Side", Anika Noni Rose, "The Princess and the Frog" and Gabourey Sidebe, "Precious".

Denzel Washington "The Taking of Pelham 123", Idris Elba "Obsessed" and Jamie Foxx "Law Abiding Citizen", Morgan Freeman, "Invictus", Quinton Aaron, "The Blind Side" are all up for best actor.

In the TV categories, nominated dramas include "Cold Case," "Grey's Anatomy," "HawthoRNe," "Lincoln Heights" and "The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency." "Glee," "30 Rock," "Ugly Betty," "Everybody Hates Chris" and "Tyler Perry's House of Payne" were nominated for outstanding comedy series.

Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series include Anthony Anderson, "Law & Order", Hill Harper, "CSI:NY", LL Cool J, "NCIS: LA", Laurence Fishburne, "CSI: Crime Scene Investigation" and Taye Diggs, "Private Practice". Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series include Chandra Wilson, "Grey's Anatomy", Jada Pinkett Smith, "Hawthorne", Jill Scott, "No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency", Regina King, "Southland" and Sandra Oh, "Grey's Anatomy".

Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series include Daryl "Chilli" Mitchell, "Brothers", Donald Faison, "Scrubs", Dule Hill, "Psych", LaVan Davis, "Tyler Perry's House of Payne", Tyler james Williams, "Everybody Hates Chris". Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series - America Ferrera, "Ugly Betty", Cassi Davis, "Tyler Perry's House of Payne", CCH Pounder, "Brothers", Sherri Shepherd, "Sherri", Tichina Arnold, "Everybody Hates Chris".

Over on the music side, Bey's hubby - Sean "Jay-Z" Carter tops the nominees with five nods, including outstanding male artist and album for "The Blueprint 3." His collabo with Alicia Keys (Empire State of Mind) was also recognized. Rihanna and A Keys were also nominated for outstanding female artist, along with India.Arie, Mary J. Blige and Whitney Houston. Maxwell will be competing with Jay-Z in the male artist category along with Anthony Hamilton, Charlie Wilson, and Ne-Yo.

The awards show will air live on Friday, February 26 (8-10p) ET/PT on FOX.

No comments:

Post a Comment